Supreme Court Validates 8 Govs’ Elections

The Supreme Court, on yesterday upheld the elections of eight state governors.

They are: Dapo Abiodun (Ogun), Udom Emmanuel (Akwa Ibom), Bello Masari (Katsina), Abdullahi Sule (Nasarawa), David Umahi (Ebonyi), Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos), Seyi Makinde (Oyo) and Nasir el-Rufai (Kaduna)

In the case of Ogun State, the Mary Peter Odili-led panel, dismissed the appeal of the governorship candidate of the Allied Peoples Movement (APM), Adekunle Akinlade.

She ruled that the applicants failed to prove all their allegations.

“The applicants have not discharged the burden of proving their allegations of noncompliance and irregularities in their petition.Also, there is a failure to substantiate the alleged non-compliance. So I dismiss the appeal as I uphold the decision of the court of appeal which affirmed the judgment of the court of trial,” Odili held.

On Akwa Ibom, the apex court dismissed the appeal of Nsima Ekere, governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), challenging the election of Emmanuel.

Odili said Ekere’s “appeal lacks merit and is accordingly dismissed”.

Paul Galinje, who delivered the lead judgments in the two appeals against the election of Sanwo-Olu, held that the appeals lacked merit.

The Supreme Court also said the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) was right in declaring Makinde as winner of the 2019 governorship election in the state.

The court also upheld the election of Nasir el-Rufai as the governor of Kaduna state.

Leave a Response