Senator Tasks GSS Ogu Alumni On Schools Dev

The Senator pepresenting Rivers East Senatorial District in the National Assembly, Senator George Thompson Sekibo has enjoined old students of Government secondary School Ogu to cherish their alma-mater for producing men and women of great repute in the society.

Senator Sekibo, who is an old student of the school made the call while addressing the body at a re-union meeting held in Port Harcourt.

He said that in few months the school will celebrate its 50th Anniversary as many old students had attained heights in the society.

The senator appealed to the interim committee to ensure all old students of the school were carried along.

Also speaking, the Chief Whip of Rivers State House of Assembly and member representing Ogu/Bolo Constituency, Rt. Hon. Evans Bapakaye Bipi lauded the conveners of the meeting for their initiative and called for the inclusion of younger students into the committee.

Rt. Hon. Bipi explained why the reconstructed school building had not been commissioned, pointing out that additional projects were being embarked upon in order to give the schools a befitting look while the commissioning is likely to take place in January next year.

In his inaugural speech as the interim Chairman of the Old Students Association, Mr. Osaki Asobari expressed gratitude to God that the school had produced achievers that would make its Alama-mater great and expressed optimism that with the caliber of persons in the committee they would live up to expectation, and solicited for maximum co-operation from the old students of the school.

Asobari thanked the members for the confidence reposed on him and his interim executive committee and further assured that they would justify the opportunity given to them to serve for the next one year before a proper Exco will be inaugurated formerly.

Members of the interim committee include; Mr. Osaki Asobari Chairman, Bar. Vincent Nimieboka – Vice Chairman, Pastor Tonye Richard Apiri– General Secretary, Bar. Kalada Nonju– Assistant General Secretary, Commordor Oforibo Aminadoki (Rtd) – Treasurer, Hon. Christiana Tamunoyemiari – Financial Secretary, Bar. Violet Alli – Assistant Financial Secretary, Sir Silas Iruene– PRO and Dr. Caleb Dago Davids – Organizing Secretary.

Others are the Provost – Mr. Hector Williams, Asst. Provost – Tonye Dixon Atemie, the welfare officer – Pastor David Dakoru, Assistant Welfare Officer – Mrs. Gloria Omubo Iruene while Senator George Thompson Sekibo and Chief (Rev) Francis Ada Ebenezer Onye are Ex-Officer members.

Leave a Response