Association Plans Scholarship For Indigent Students

A socio-philanthropic organisation under the auspices of Friends Association of Justice (FAJ), Nigeria has concluded plans to donate educational materials to public schools, award scholarship to indigent students and visit charity homes in the state.

Acting president of the Club, Barr. Kalada Nonju who disclosed this to The Vortex correspondent in his office in Port Harcourt, said they had resolved to embark on these programmes this year as a way of giving back to the society despite their lean resources.

Nonju hinted that since he took over the helm of affairs of the club, he had restored confidence of members, enabled prudent and transparent management of finances as well as made members to be more committed and dedicated to the activities of the organisation.

He noted that objective of the body was to assist the less-privileged in the society; adding that members’ welfare had also been given priority attention since he assumed office in 2017.

The Acting President however noted that the club is facing some challenges which include membership as they want to admit only credible members of the society that will be committed financially and physically, unstable source of income by members but expressed confidence that despite these challenges, the Friends Association of Justice would definitely forge ahead to achieve its set goals in the society.

Nonju also advised members to show commitment to activities of the club and avoid any negative attitude that would tear the organisation apart.

Also speaking, the PRO and Director of Socials of the body, Comrade Tonye Orabere said the club which was formed in January 1986 with Mr. ThankGod Bob-Manuel as its pioneer President had been reaching out to charity homes, give members welfare priority attention, held debates among Secondary Schools and also erected sign-post for direction.

Orabere further asserted the 10-memebr organization has Barr. Kalada Nonju as Acting President, Golden Isaac- Secretary, Belema Iwari- Financial Secretary and Hon. Johnson Jackbara as Treasurer while Leader Dr. James Tamuno and Engr. Sampson Sekidika.

Leave a Response